The All India Council for Secondary Education

All India Council for Secondary Education: This council was established in 1955 for the specific purpose of providing a specialised institution for the development of secondary education in the country. The number of these members was 22 and its chairperson was the Educational Adviser of the government of India. At that time this council was entrusted with both types of functions (i) Advisory, and (ii) Executive.

Besides serving as an advisory body to the union and state governments on all matters relating to secondary education, it was also authorised to initiate steps for the -propagation and development of secondary education in the country, the council served in this capacity from 1955 to 58. It was reconstituted in 1958 and its executive functions were transferred to another body known as “Directorate of Extension Programmes for Secondary Education.” The functions of the re-constituted secondary education council now are only of an advisory nature. The following bodies are represented on this reconstituted council

(1) Union Edification Ministry

(2) All India Council for Technical Education

(3) Union Finance Ministry

(3) Union Finance Ministry

(4) University Grants Commission.

(5) Organization of All India Education Associations.

(6) Association of Training Colleges.

(7) One representative from each state nominated by the Central Government.

(8) All India Council for Elementary Education.

Under the recently introduced National Policy on Education the country has received a new set of schools, entitled “The Navodaya Schools” which are specially designed to serve as “pace-setting” institutions for fulfilling the constitutional dream of sound secondary education; the 1986 document, states:

“Pace-setting schools will be established in various parts of the country on a given pattern, but with full scope for innovation and experimentation. Their broad aims will be to serve the objectives of excellence, coupled with equity and social Justice (with reservation for SCs and STs), to promote national integration by providing opportunities to talented children largely rural from different parts of country to live and learn together, to develop their full potential and most importantly to become catalysts of a nationwide programme of school improvement. The school will be residential and free of charge.”

University Grants Commission: On the recommendation of the University Education Commission (1948), the University Grants Commission was established in 1953. In the year 1956, it was given the status of a Statutory Body an Act of Parliament. According to this act, the University Grants Commission will have nine members, besides the chair person and the secretary of these nine members; three would be vice-chancellors of universities, four famous educationists and two representatives of the central government. According to Teacher Training Diploma the commission performs the following functions:

(1) Advising universities on the improvement of university education and the raising of teaching standards.

(2) Creating homogeneity in the educational standards in various specialist bodies advising the government of India on matters related to university education.

(3) In disbursement of grants-in-aid to universities out of its funds and laying down policy in this regard.

(4) Offering its views comments regarding establishment of new universities and extension of the activities of the existing ones.

(5) Attending to matters referred to it by the central government and universities and clarifying doubtful issues for them.